Cheesy Bacon Cauliflower

Cheese and bacon. Does the vegetable part really matter??

I adapted this side dish from this recipe, but this time I omitted the chicken since I was making another chicken recipe as my main dish. The original recipe is fabulous too, so check it out!

Ingredients:

bacon cauliflower1

Bacon, frozen cauliflower (fresh would be great too, but let’s face it frozen is easier), cheddar, Monterey Jack (though I used a Mexican blend I had on hand), s & p, garlic powder.

Step 1: Cook bacon. My new favorite way to cook bacon is in the oven. Line a pan with aluminum foil, place your bacon on foil, and cook in a cold oven at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. Perfection! And less mess! Let cool, and blot with paper towel to minimize grease.

Step 2: Cook cauliflower according to directions on frozen package. Let cool, and blot with paper towel to absorb excess water.

Step 3: Combine cheeses, garlic powder, and s & p in bowl. Crumble bacon on top.

cauliflower2

Step 4: Stir in cauliflower.

cauliflower3

Step 5: Transfer to greased oval casserole dish (8×8 would probably work too). Bake in oven at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes. Note: the original recipe calls for 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. Comes out the same either way in my opinion!

Step 6: Enjoy the cheesy bacon goodness! Makes for a great side dish if you’re looking for a low carb substitute!

cauliflowerdone

Leave a comment