GF Christmas Cookies

Everyone has their favorite Christmas treat, or if you’re like me you have multiple favorite Christmas treats. From my mom’s cider to my godmother’s peanut butter fudge, to my mother-in-law’s chocolate-coconut candies, I love them all. One of my absolute favorites though is just the plain ol’ sugar cookie. They don’t even have to be cut into angels or trees, I just love a good sugar cookie no matter its shape.

I also love sharing treats with others, so I was super excited (probably overly excited) to make these sugar cookies for my work Christmas party this week-end. There’s just something about the tradition of making cookies that really adds to the whole season, at least in my book.

These cookies can be made GF or not GF just depending on your preference. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

Ingredients:

  • 2 3/4 Cup flour (I use GF Jule’s)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 Cup butter, softened (but not too soft)
  • 1 1/2 Cup white sugar, plus another 1/2 cup or so for rolling the dough
  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 can Betty Crocker Buttercream Icing (you can also make your own, but this stuff is incredible on top of these cookies)
  • Sprinkles

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees, or 350 convection.

Whisk together the flour, baking soda, and baking powder. Set aside.

Cream butter and sugar in large bowl until fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla, then slowly blend in dry ingredients. Do not over blend.

Take 1 tablespoon of dough and roll into ball. Roll the ball into a small bowl of white sugar, then flatten with the palm of your hand and place on cookie sheet. Bake 8-10 minutes. Let cool for about 3-5 minutes, then transfer to baking rack. Once completely cooled, ice and sprinkle until your heart’s content!

IMG_3211

Merry Christmas and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

