Sweet Fall Pumpkin Bars

Yes, I’m one of *those* who get suddenly obsessed with pumpkin at the onset of fall. I try to have some self control and not go overboard with pumpkin-flavored desserts, pumpkin coffees, pumpkin decor…but low and behold we still have pumpkins all over our house, and I think I’ve met and exceeded my quota for pumpkin spiced lattes this year.

I did somehow manage to wait until the end of October to make my pumpkin bars, which I’ll now be restraining myself from making every week for the rest of the season. I began making these little treats a few years ago, each time making them a little different trying to perfect the recipe. And tonight, tonight we had a winner. I hope you’ll try these and enjoy them as much as we do! They’re the perfect sweet fall tradition, and naturally GF!

Ingredients:

  • 1 Cup almond butter (note: almond butter is best for these as it does not overpower the pumpkin flavor)
  • 3/4-1 Cup pumpkin
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 Cup honey
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp maple flavoring
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/4-1/2 Cup white chocolate chips (optional…but highly recommended)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray 8×8 baking dish with cooking spray. Combine all ingredients together in large bowl and spread into baking dish. If adding the white chocolate chips, you may want to toss them with a little GF flour first as this helps them not sink to the bottom of the dish. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until knife comes out clean.

IMG_2826

Serve warm with a nice, hot cup of coffee and enjoy all things fall!

Leave a Reply

