Lemon-Blueberry Poppy-Seed Pancakes

First of all, if you eat a GF diet please read this article now. It will make you laugh and say AMEN and hopefully see why myself and so many others are blogging about how easy it is to eat GF.

Now, for the yummy portion of this post. I try very hard to make generally healthy meals throughout the week, but sometimes one just needs something absolutely decadent, albeit somewhat unhealthy, for one’s dinner, which in this case could also be breakfast. Breakfast for dinner is a pretty common occurrence around here.

This week’s choice: lemon-blueberry poppy-seed pancakes. I love anything with the lemon-blueberry combo, so when I came across this recipe it went straight on the must-make list.

To see the original recipe, click here. Fortunately, I really didn’t have to do much to convert this recipe to GF other than swap out the flour, I used Jule’s. I also added about 3/4 cup of blueberries (hey, there’s a little healthy in here!).

Ingredients

  • 2 C GF flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/3 Cup sugar
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/3 Cup poppy seeds
  • Zest from 4 lemons
  • 2 Cups milk (original recipe calls for buttermilk, I used almond milk)
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 2 tbs butter, melted
  • 3/4 Cup blueberries

Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, sugar, and salt in large bowl. Combine remaining ingredients in separate bowl, then stir into dry ingredients. Finally, fold in blueberries. Pour 1/3 cup of batter onto griddle/skillet, cook until bottom side is slightly golden brown, then flip to second side and cook until also slightly golden brown.

The batter was a little thicker than your usual pancake batter, but I just used a spoon to flatten it out a little once it was on the griddle.

Image

Next time I might add a bit more lemon, but I love me some lemon.

Image

There they are, all nice and golden! I topped them with some local blackberry syrup and strawberries….so lovely!

Image

These pancakes were simply delicious and I firmly believe you should add them to your next breakfast (or dinner!) menu. You won’t be disappointed!

And now to calculate how much exercise I need to do to burn this deliciousness off…

One thought on “Lemon-Blueberry Poppy-Seed Pancakes

Leave a Reply

