GF Drunken Rum Cake

If you read my last post, A Fondue Birthday, you’d know it’s birthday week at my house. And in keeping with our traditions, today I made my husband a rum cake for his birthday. Every year I ask him if he wants another rum cake, and he usually says, “Let me think about it.” And every year, a few days later, I ask again what kind of cake he’d like to have, and he always answers, “I think I’d like a rum cake again.” So a rum cake I made him.

I usually make the typical bundt pan rum cake, but I always have issues with getting the rum glaze to soak through the cake. So this year I decided to make the rum cake sheet cake style. I also decided to add a little butter/brown sugar/pecan topping, just because. In my opinion, and I’m biased, this rum cake was so much better than my previous bundt pan style. Not that the bundt pan rum cake wasn’t good, but this version was goooood. The butter and brown sugar topping added a whole other level to the rum glaze that made it absolutely delectable!

And now for the recipe…

Cake:

  • 1 22-oz box of GF yellow cake mix (I used King Arthur brand)
  • 1 3.4-oz box of instant vanilla pudding
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup dark rum

Pour all ingredients into a large bowl. Using an electric mixer, beat together for about 2 minutes on medium speed. Pour into greased 9 x 13 baking dish.

Topping:

  • 1/3 stick of butter, room temperature
  • 3 T brown sugar
  • 2 T GF all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 C chopped pecans

Mix together until well blended. I use my hands for this because a spoon just doesn’t get it all taken care of. When combined, sprinkle over cake. Note: It’s okay if it’s not completely even or doesn’t look pretty.

Bake cake at 350 degrees for about 35-40 minutes, or until knife comes out clean. Let cool completely before adding glaze.

Rum Glaze:

  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark rum

Melt butter in saucepan, then add water and sugar. Bring to boil and boil for about 5 minutes. Remove from heat, then add rum. Let glaze sit for a few minutes to thicken. During this time, poke holes all over the cake so the glaze can soak through. Pour glaze over cake.

Image

I also sprinkled a little powdered sugar over the top after the glaze. Not the prettiest of cakes, but the taste makes up for it!

This is one of those cakes that just gets better with time. The more it sits, the more the rum soaks through, and the more delicious and irresistible it is!

Image

What a great ending to birthday week!

Leave a Reply

