Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Pudding Cookies

I have been eating a gluten-free diet for a little over two years now, and I have to say I think I’ve done pretty well turning gluten-full recipes into gluten-free recipes. I’ve often joked that sometimes I feel like the father on My Big Fat Greek Wedding…“Give me a word, any word, and I’ll tell you how it’s Greek.” Well, give me a recipe, any recipe, and I’ll tell you how to make it GF.

Except for chocolate chip cookies. For two years now I have been on the hunt for the perfect scratch-made GF chocolate chip cookie recipe, and embarrassingly enough I have to admit I have failed numerous times. Until today. Today I made GF chocolate chip cookies that my husband described as some of the best cookies he’s ever had. Considering he’s usually my only taste tester I would consider this recipe a success!

I think the success of this recipe comes partly from the recipe itself and partly from what I’ve learned from my multiple failures.

  • Don’t over mix your ingredients
  • Use a GF flour that can be substituted for regular flour 1:1
  • When measuring GF flour, spoon the flour into the measuring cup (rather than dipping the measuring cup into the flour) so that the flour is not packed in tightly and you’re using exactly what the recipe calls for

This recipe is one I actually used before my GF days and now I’ve discovered it works wonderfully with my GF flour (Jule’s, of course).

Ingredients:

  • 1 C butter, softened
  • 3/4 C brown sugar
  • 1 package Jell-O instant pudding (I used sugar-free vanilla)
  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 1/4 C flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 3 1/2 full size Hershey bars (or 12 oz package of chocolate chips/chunks of your choice…I happened to have chocolate bars so I used them)

Preparation:

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  • If using chocolate bars, roughly chop into chunks
  • Beat butter, sugars, pudding mix, and vanilla on medium speed until just blended
  • Add eggs one a time, beating just a little after each addition
  • Gradually add flour and baking soda, beating until just blended
  • Stir in chocolate chunks
  • Bake for 10 minutes

The great thing about this recipe is that you can use any flavor of pudding and any add-ins you want to! My sister-in-law often uses white chocolate chips and peppermint around Christmas…which is something I’ll probably do this year too now that I know this works great as a GF recipe! I’ve also tried this with butterscotch pudding and a combo of butterscotch and chocolate chips. So delicious!

Image

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do! Yay for GF recipe success!

4 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Pudding Cookies

  1. Pingback: Refrigerator Pinwheels

  2. Pingback: Minty-whiches, Holiday Recipe #6 | 365 Days of Thank You

  3. Pingback: CookieSuarus Rex | Crossing Reality : Back to Basics

  4. Pingback: Gluten-Free Chocolate Cookies | Remote Control-Proof

Leave a Reply

