Bring on the Crockpot!

Have I mentioned how much I love fall? Because I love fall. Fall brings with it crisp air, beautiful fall leaves, that magnificent October sky…and busyness. Lots of busyness. And busyness is great, I thrive on it, but busyness means not being able to go to the grocery store when you’re out of food, and therefore not being able to cook as much. So, after hearing about a friend’s amazing freezer to crockpot meals prepared in advance, I decided it was time I try for myself.

To Pintrest I went, pinning various blogs and recipes for my freezer to crockpot cooking adventure. I planned, made my grocery list, went shopping, and spent about 2 1/2 hours on a Sunday afternoon chopping, measuring, and bagging our next 10 meals.

There are certainly some things I would do differently next time (such as chopping all onions I need at one time rather than by recipe), but all in all the process went pretty well, and almost all of the recipes were naturally GF! Win-win!

fc1  fc6

Before I began the prep work, I labeled each bag with the meal name and any extra instructions beyond just placing in the crockpot. This one was Honey Rosemary Chicken, which I served over lightly seasoned risotto and green beans. YUM!

fc2

This one I was a little skeptical of, but it actually turned out really well: Cheddar Sausage Veggie Casserole. Note on the recipe: It calls for cheddar cheese soup and cream of celery soup, which I cannot find in a GF version, so I used 2 small boxes of Pacific Food’s cream of mushroom soup, which is lower in fat anyway! I did add about 3/4 cup of shredded cheddar right before serving to give it a nice cheesy-ness.

fc7

I actually thought this was even better as leftovers the next day!

fc11

Lime Salsa Chicken, served with some sliced zucchini and mushrooms. Note on the recipe: Be careful when choosing a taco seasoning packet. Not all are GF. I used McCormick’s for this one.

fc4

Chicken Fajitas, so easy! Again, be careful choosing a seasoning packet. McCormick’s has fajita seasoning too, also GF!

fc5

Pesto Ranch Chicken, served with GF pasta shells and a spinach salad. Delicious!

fc13 fc12

Ranch Pork Chops, seriously so easy! Just throw in your pork chops, ranch seasoning packet (yes, GF!), Ro-tel, and you’re good to go!

fc8

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo. All I had to do when I got home from work was boil some GF pasta. Make sure your alfredo sauce is GF. I like Classico’s lower-fat alfredo sauce!

fc9 fc10

The final product! So good!

Below is the list and links of all 10 dishes I tried on my maiden voyage of freezer to crockpot cooking. It’s been a pretty tasty and time-saving week!

1. Pioneer Woman Chili & Cornbread

2. Beef Roast with Veggies and Potatoes

3. Honey Rosemary Chicken (served with risotto and green beans)

4. Cheddar Sausage Veggie Casserole

5. Chicken Alfredo with Broccoli

6. Pulled Pork

7. Lime Salsa Chicken (served with zucchini and mushrooms)

8. Ranch Pork Chops

9. Chicken Fajitas

10. Pesto Ranch Chicken (served with GF shells and spinach salad)

Leave a Reply

