Easy Cheesy Zucchini

I used to be the pickiest person in the world when it came to food. Seriously, ask my parents. I’m sure I was not the easiest child to feed. I can still be picky, but my taste buds are much more open than they used to be!

I’m not sure at what point I discovered that zucchini isn’t as terribly awful as I thought it would be, but I’m so glad that day came. Zucchini and I are very good friends now, and I’m always looking for new ways to prepare it as a side.

My go to method of making zucchini usually involves drizzling thin slices with olive oil and sprinkling with salt and pepper, then roasting for about 20-25 minutes at 350.

But there was something about last Tuesday evening that made me want to experiment, thus the birth of my easy cheesy zucchini.
Please excuse my lack of pictures for this recipe as I wasn’t completely confident that it would be a success, and therefore it was not photographed.

What you’ll need: 2 medium sized zucchini, rinsed and thinly sliced; about 3/4 cup mozzarella cheese (or cheese of your choice, we just happened to have mozzarella); and a seasoning of your choice. One of our new favorite seasonings is The Melting Pot’s Garlic & Wine seasoning. SO. Good.

Spray a round baking dish with cooking spray. Place zucchini slices along the bottom of the dish, trying not to overlap. Sprinkle with 1/4 cup of cheese and seasoning to taste. Repeat this process until all zucchini slices have been used, using 1/4 cup of cheese for each layer.

Image

Pop in the oven at 350 for about 25-30 minutes and enjoy! I paired this with pork tenderloin and it was delicious!

Leave a Reply

