Converted Cupcakes

One of my favorite chefs on The Food Network is Ree Drummond, a.k.a. The Pioneer Woman. Everything she makes looks easy and delicious, and I love how she ties in her ranch life with each episode. I’ve never made a Pioneer Woman recipe that didn’t turn out wonderfully, including this cake recipe that took some GF conversion!

We recently attended a wedding where the reception was a potluck dinner. Seeing as how most potlucks are short on GF desserts (and dessert is my favorite food group) I decided to bring a GF cake. But not just any cake. I wanted to bring The Pioneer Woman’s Red Velvet Sheet Cake, GF style. The ONLY change I made was substituting cake flour for my favorite GF flour, Jules. Side note: cake flour is just a thinner, lighter wheat flour, so you cane use GF flour 1:1 if a recipe calls for cake flour.

I can’t say enough good things about how this turned out! In fact, it turned out so well that I decided to make it again for a GF friend’s baby shower last week. This time however, I was slightly more adventurous.

My sweet GF friend is having a baby boy, so I used blue food coloring instead of red. I also decided to make mini cupcakes instead of a sheet cake, just because. The only difference in the baking process was that the cupcakes only took 15 minutes where the sheet cake took 20 minutes. The blue combined with the cocoa powder actually somehow made a nice turquoise color!

Image

Image

I made the icing exactly how The Pioneer Woman directs in her “That’s the Best Frosting I’ve Ever Had” recipe, though once again I swapped the flour for Jule’s GF flour. And it truly was the best frosting I’ve ever had. So, so light and decadent. It took everything in me not to just eat the icing out of the bowl. Don’t judge.

Image

Look how cute they are! Warning: Consumer may accidentally eat more than one…or two. And consumer’s tongue may turn blueish-green.

I’m not going to go into the steps of the recipe because believe me, Ree Drummond does it better. Why reinvent the wheel?

Ree’s recipes are not all GF, but use Jule’s GF flour and you’ll find it’s not hard at all to enjoy her recipes!

One thought on “Converted Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Blogs I Read (and Why You Should Too) – The Pioneer Woman | Sheridanigans

Leave a Reply

