Locally Gluten-Free

It never ever hurts to ask the waitress if the restaurant has a gluten-free menu. Sometimes I just know what to get that won’t be an issue with my intolerance, but I’ve found that most of the time having a GF menu ensures that I won’t order something that will lead to regret later.

We ate with my parents at a local restaurant, Cafe 4, last week. This is one of those places where I’ve ordered a few things that have been okay as far as not making me ill, but when we ate there last week I decided to ask if they had a GF menu. Luckily, they had one. But that’s not the best part!

The best part is that after she brought rolls to the rest of the table, she brought me a little GF appetizer! Maybe I’m sheltered in the GF land, but this has never happened! And it was delicious too!

Image

No, the rolls weren’t GF. But she brought me these yummy homemade potato chips with some sort of chipotle dipping sauce. They were so good that the rest of the table ate them too!

For my entree I ordered the Grilled Chicken Tostada Salad, hold the tostadas. It was fabulous too just as everything at Cafe 4 is fabulous. Lime marinated grilled chicken, black beans, corn, crisp lettuce, cilantro, cheese, and a chipotle ranch dressing. YUM!

Image

Believe me, it was much prettier before it’s photo debut. If only I would remember to take the picture before diving in…

It’s becoming more typical that chain restaurants have notable GF options, but it’s so nice to have local restaurants that have a variety of GF options too. Cafe 4 even had GF desserts, but I was so full from my appetizer and entree that I skipped dessert that night. Don’t worry, I’ll be going back and I’ll be sure to let you know what I have for dessert!

One thought on “Locally Gluten-Free

  1. You are so right. There are restaurants that carry a separate gluten-free menu, but the servers rarely mention it. Always ask. Even if they don’t have a menu, many are happy to point out items that are GF or make substitutions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

