Gluten Free-Boston Style!

We recently took a week end trip to Boston with my in-laws. What a fun city! We packed just about everything we could into two full days, saw some fabulous sights, and ate delicious food!

Image

Image

Image

With the help of http://www.glutenfreeregistry.com, it’s really not that difficult to eat GF out of town. On our first night we ate at a little Italian restaurant in the North End, Bricco’s. I will admit I was a little disappointed that the Gluten Free Registry app said they had GF pasta and the hostess said they could make anything GF, however the waiter said they only had GF fettucini. But seeing as how I don’t get to have GF fettucini very often, I took advantage. They paired the pasta with a delicious marinara sauce and Parmesan cheese. Sounds simple, but I have to say it was some of the best GF pasta I’ve ever had. The pasta made up for the misleading information!

For brunch the next morning, we ate a restaurant that was actually featured on The Food Network: Mike’s City Diner.

Image

My go-to breakfast/brunch menu item is anything with eggs. Scrambled, over easy, omelette style, you name it. If it’s eggs, chances are you’ll be okay. With the exception of IHOP who apparently puts pancake batter in their omelettes, but that’s a different story.

Anyway, back to Mike’s. So many egg choices! I ordered the Spanish omelette, which had cheese and salsa scrambled with the eggs. With a side of home fries (basically just salted potatoes), this was meal delicious!

We ate at The Union Oyster House for dinner the second night, which is by the way the oldest operating restaurant in the United States. Did I mention I’m not a fan of sea food? I know, there’s something wrong with me. The added aversion to seafood makes a GF hunt a tad more difficult, but I’ve found that if I can get steak and a veggie, I’m pretty much good to go. And that’s what I had at The Union Oyster House: filet with a side of broccoli. Exactly what everyone gets at a famous seafood restaurant, right?

For breakfast the second morning, we found a cute little cafe on Charles Street, Cafe Bella Vita. Once again, I knew it was a winner when I saw eggs on the menu. This time I just stuck with basic scrambled eggs with cheese. Still yummy! My husband had breakfast sausage with his meal, and that was some of the best sausage we’ve ever tasted! So glad we found this place!

As we walked the Freedom Trail, we stopped into Mike’s Pastry, a Boston North End tradition. As usual, I thought I’d sit back and live vicariously through others as they enjoy their dessert. Maybe I could at least have some icing. But, Mike’s Pastry proved me wrong! They had GF whoopie pies, black and white cookies, and a black forest trifle/pudding thing. I went with the whoopie pie, and I’m so glad I did! Don’t judge the size, I shared some and still didn’t eat all of it, though it would have been worth every bite!

Image

Notice-we did not really have lunch either day we were there as our brunch meals completely filled us up until about 4 pm when we had a Starbucks break!

For dinner on the last night we had McCormick & Schmicks, which is not really a Boston original, but it was pretty good for this GF eater. The waitress did a great job of showing me exactly what I could order GF, and once again I had filet. This time I also ordered the pan seared wild mushrooms, amazing! I’m going to have to try to recreate those! There were many other options if you’re not a strictly land eater like I am. They even had some dessert options that looked great, but we were too stuffed to try anything else!

We had such a fabulous trip! Looking forward to our next trip and trying even more GF Boston options!

Image

Image

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

