Bacon Wrapped Green Beans

I realize this is my second recipe for green beans within a two week time period, but hey, I like green beans. And we had some freshly canned green beans from my father-in-law’s farm. And we had bacon. So how could we not make bacon wrapped green beans??

These are easy, delicious, GF, and make a great side dish to almost any meal! Credit goes to my mother-in-law who gave me this recipe years ago (Marianne-please forgive me if I don’t have this exactly right!).

What you’ll need:

Well, depends on how many people you’re feeding. Since it was just the two of us when I made these last, just the one can of beans from the farm worked great. If I’m feeding 4-6 people, 2 cans of green beans or about 1.5 lbs of fresh green beans is plenty.

You’ll also need bacon (I like thick cut for this recipe), red wine vinegar, garlic powder, salt and pepper, and toothpicks.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cut between 4-6 slices of bacon in half (just depends on how many greens beans are in your bundles). Get your toothpicks ready.

Take a small little bundle of green beans, wrap bacon around, and secure with toothpick. Repeat until all green beans have been bundled. No green bean left behind!

All ready for their seasonings!

bacongreenbeans

I have to admit, I don’t have measurements for these seasonings. I just season until I feel like it’s enough. And they turn out great every single time! I will say I usually season in this order and repeat once: red wine vinegar, garlic powder, salt and pepper. I don’t know why I do it that way, I just do. And again, they always turn out fabulous!

bacongreenbeans2

If feeding  crowd I suggest placing the bundles in a casserole dish before baking so the presentation is better. It’s a good thing my husband doesn’t judge on how pretty the end result looks…

Bake in oven for about 45-60 minutes or until bacon is all bubbly and green beans are somewhat crispy on the edges.

bacongreenbeans3

See what I mean about the presentation? But don’t judge a pan of green beans by their cover. This is by far my favorite way to eat green beans and they’re always a crowd pleaser. And a husband pleaser. And if you have a can of fresh green beans from a local farm, use them for this recipe! Definitely the best I’ve made!

3 thoughts on “Bacon Wrapped Green Beans

  1. Pingback: Eggs and Green Beans | healthy creative dish

  2. Pingback: Bacon Wrapped Green Beans –video included- | Recipes for a Healthy You

  3. Pingback: Mashed Potato Cups | Gluten Free: NBD

Leave a Reply

