You have to eat gluten-free? I’m so sorry!

label-gluten-freeWell, don’t be. Choosing to eat a gluten-free (GF) diet was actually one of the easiest decisions I’ve ever made. And two years later it’s still one of the easiest things I choose to do with my life. So, don’t be sorry!

But you can’t have bread!

No, I can’t have bread that’s been made with wheat flour. I can have bread that’s been made with rice flour, tapioca flour, or a GF flour blend. And while I’ve had plenty of delicious bread made with wheat flour, I’ve also had plenty of delicious GF bread. It may not be those heavenly rolls from O’Charley’s, but I’ll trade illness with GF bread (or even no bread) any day.

What about cake?

What about it? Can I have your average yellow cake? No, probably not. But seeing as how cake isn’t something I have 365 days a year, it’s not a complete loss to me. If I really want to have my cake fix, I’ll pick up some fabulous GF cupcakes from Earth Fare. Or, if I’m feeling really ambitious, I’ll make my own GF cake either using one of Betty Crocker’s tasty GF mixes or using my Jule’s GF flour. Both are great and neither have the slightest “this is lacking wheat” taste.

Can you have vegetables?

Um, yes. Unless the vegetable was made with wheat, in which case GF diet or not, I don’t think I’d want to eat that vegetable.

So, what can you eat?

Anything I want. I don’t live in a world where I can’t have anything that tastes good. A GF diet by no means consists of “health food” only. Speaking as someone who lost 30 pounds on a gluten-full diet, I have to practice just as much discipline to control weight gain on a GF diet. It’s not always a piece of cake (yes, that was intentional), but it’s certainly not hard. Even since my maiden voyage on this journey two years ago there have been TONS of advancements and additions to the GF world. A plethora of restaurants with GF options, an even bigger plethora of GF blogs and Pinterest boards, and a vast array of GF food choices in the grocery stores. There are even dedicated GF bakeries and entirely GF restaurants out there now! So, don’t be sorry. Don’t be worried about my lack of bread and cake intake. And for pete’s sake please don’t be worried about what in the world I eat on a regular basis because believe me, I’m not struggling!

It’s no big deal!

Two years is not a long time, but within these two years I’ve been asked plenty of questions about eating GF. I’ve also been asked for GF recipes, which does not mean I’m a phenomenal chef in my quaint little kitchen. But, it does give me motivation to share my thoughts and recipes and what little GF knowledge I may possess. So, please bear with me as I share my GF life. And please, please continue to ask questions, enjoy my recipe posts, and share yours!

Leave a Reply

